Contact No: +91 20 6561 3769/70



Location: Survey No. 231/3A-4 , Viman Nagar, Pune, Maharashtra, India - 411014

Are you Interested in studying at Symbiosis Institute of Design ?
Fill in the details below and we will Connect you with the institute

Expected Joining Time


Bachelor of Design in Communication Design

Category: Communication Design

Degree: B.Des.

Mode: Full Time

Medium: Campus

Level: UG


The Communication Design course is a 4-year undergraduate degree programme in which students are given an understanding of the principles, theories and skills of communication design and are expected to gain mastery over the subjects at the end of the course.

Communication design can be defined as the effective presentation of ideas and information by means of type and image, whether in the traditional medium of print or in the new digital medium that supports interactive computer displays, multimedia communication technology, and information systems.

What is common to the range of experiences in the programme is a problem-solving approach to effective and expressive communication, with a special concern for the person who will be touched by the communication artifact. Emphasis is on a design practice that is informed with an understanding of the social and cultural dimensions of communication, along with an appreciation of the power of words and images.

While fostering respect for the rich history of books, letterform, and print design, the potential that technology and new theories of human-machine interaction hold for the design of future modes of communication is also appreciated.

Specializations (Communication Design)

Communication Design especially further branches out after second year into four specializations viz.


  • Graphic Design
  • Video Film Design
  • Animation Film Design
  • User Experience Design

This gives a student an opportunity to excel his skills and design talents to prove his area of interest and thereby upgrade himself to synchronize with the industry standards of Design.


4 Years

Basic Eligibility

  • The +2 level examination in the 10+2 pattern of examination of any recognised Central/State Board of Secondary Examination, such as Central Board of Secondary Education, New Delhi, and Council for Indian School of Certificate Examination, New Delhi.                                       
  • General Certificate Education (GCE) Examination (London/Cambridge/Sri Lanka) at the Advanced (A) level.                                             
  • Any Public School/Board/University Examination in India or in Foreign countries recognised by the Association of Indian Universities as equivalent to 10+2 system.                                                
  • A pass grade in the Senior Secondary School Examination conducted by the National Open School with a minimum of five subjects.                                           
  •  3 or 4-years diploma recognised by AICTE or a State Board of Technical Education.

Minimum Marks


Related Question and Answer

Ask A Question