MIT Institute of Design & Avantika University - Admissions Open for Fashion & Design - Apply Now!!

Victoria University of Wellington

Victoria University of Wellington
Website :
Email :
Contact No : +64-4-472 1000
Victoria University of Wellington

Victoria University of Wellington was established in 1897 as Victoria College. In 1961, the University of New Zealand system (degree candidates were presented to an independent body that assessed all candidates throughout the country) was dissolved and from 1962 Victoria College became an independent university, Victoria University of Wellington.

Wellington College of Education (WCE) and Victoria University of Wellington (VUW) have had a long history of working together to advance teacher education. In 2001 the Councils of WCE and VUW agreed for the establishment of a formal partnership between the two institutions. As a result, Wellington College of Education was de-established in December 2004 and the Victoria University Faculty of Education came into being in January 2005.

Victoria is a thriving community of almost 25,000 people.  In 2011, Victoria University employed 1,974 full-time equivalent staff. A total of 22,234 students were enrolled.

Campuses of Victoria University of Wellington -

The university is situated in the capital city across four campuses are -


  • Kelburn Campus - Victoria University of Wellington's Kelburn campus is the original Victoria site.  It houses principally those schools which deliver courses in programs offered by Humanities and Social Sciences and Faculty of Science.
  • Karori Campus - Victoria University of Wellington's Karori campus is the site of the teacher education programs of Faculty of Education and the Wellington location of Victoria's growing Foundation Studies program.
  • Te Aro Campus - Victoria University of Wellington's Te Aro campus is on Vivian Street and houses the Schools of Architecture and Design.
  • Pipitea Campus - Victoria University of Wellington's Pipitea campus is on Lambton Quay and consists of the three prominent Wellington landmarks: Rutherford House, Government Buildings and Wellington Railway Station West Wing.

Facilities at Victoria University of Wellington -


  • Libraries
  • Class rooms
  • Accommodation
  • Parking
  • Transportation
  • Laboratories
  • Financial Aid
  • Sports Facilities
  • Student Computing Facilities
  • Online Student Services

Faculties at Victoria University of Wellington -


  • Faculty of Architecture and Design
  • Faculty of Commerce and Administration
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Graduate Research
  • Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Science
  • Toihuarewa - a separate pan-University Faculty equivalent

Information Regarding Graduate Programs offered at Victoria University of Wellington -

Victoria offers an exceptionally wide range of postgraduate programs to suit most learning needs, from single courses and three-month certificate programs to one-year honours and diploma coursework programs, many of which include a research course to more advanced research opportunities in master's and Ph.d degrees.

Interested in Study in Abroad
Please fill in your details below and we will get in touch with you shortly
[Please fill the below details to get in touch with institute]