AICTE gets a new Innovation Cell

AICTE Cell- Union HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar through video conferencing launched the ‘Institution’s Innovation Council (IIC) program under Innovation cell of MHRD in New Delhi the other day. Ministry of Human Resource Development has established an “Innovation cell” at AICTE with a purpose to systematically foster the culture of Innovation in all Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) across the country, noted a Press Information Bureau statement.

Speaking on occasion the, Minister said, “It is a significant step in institutionalising innovation and developing a scientific temperament in the country. The purpose of formation of the network of Institution’s Innovation Councils (IICs) is to encourage, inspire and nurture young students by exposing them to new ideas and processes resulting in innovative activities in their formative years. He also informed that more than 1000 Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) have already formed IICs in their campuses and enrolled for the IIC network managed by MHRD’s Innovation cell to promote innovation through multitudinous modes leading to an innovation promotion eco-system in their campuses.”

The Union Minister said that Universities are the leading research centres of developed countries and because of their research they are at the top in global innovation ranking. He said that now Indian universities are also setting up research centres. Through‘ Institution’s Innovation Council (IIC) program and we are expecting good rank in global innovation ranking in next 2-3 years through this initiative, the statement further said.

Javadekar said that the educational advancement in higher education could only be achieved by encouraging best practices in innovation and advance research and Innovation Cell has undertaken many initiatives in this direction such as implementing programs like Atal Ranking of Institutions on Innovation Achievement (ARIIA), Smart India Hackathon (SIH)- 2019, etc. He also appreciated the efforts the officials of MHRD and AICTE to bring out this program which will contribute to the holistic development of education in the country.

Subrahmanyam, Secretary (HE), MHRD, Prof. Anil Sahasrabudhe, Chairman, AICTE, Dr. N. Saravana Kumar, Joint Secretary (TE), Prof.Bhushan Patwardhan, Vice-Chairman, UGC, Dr. Abhay Jere, CIO, MIC and dignitaries from the Central Govt agencies and more than 800 representatives from Higher Educational Institutions and Universities across the country were present on the occasion, added the statement.

By the provisions of the AICTE Act (1987), for the first five years after its inception in 1988, the Minister for Human Resource Development, the Government of India, was the Chairman of the Council. The first full-time Chairman was appointed on July 2, 1993, and the Council was reconstituted in March 1994 with a term of three years.

The Executive Committee was re-constituted on July 7, 1994, and All India Board of Studies and Advisory Boards were constituted in 1994-95. Regional Offices of the Ministry of Human Resource Development, the Government of India, located in Kolkata, Chennai, Kanpur, and Mumbai were transferred to AICTE and the staff working in these offices were also deputed to the Council on foreign service terms w.e.f. October 1, 1995.

These offices functioned as secretariats of regional Committees in the four regions (North, East, West and South). Three new regional Committees in the southwest, central, and northwest regions with their secretariats located in Bangalore, Bhopal, and Chandigarh, respectively, were also established on July 27, 1994. One more regional committee in South-Central region with its Secretariat in Hyderabad was notified on March 8, 2007.
Image source: AICTE website

Leave a Comment