New changes in IELTS helpful for foreign nurses and midwives introduced

IELTSNew changes have been brought about in International English Language Testing System (IELTS), which will eventually be helpful for the nurses and midwives wishing to take up jobs in the UK who need to achieve a minimum overall score of 7.0 in the examination. Relocating to the United Kingdom to work as a nurse or midwife can go easier for Indians now. The Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC), the UK has announced changes to its English language proficiency requirements for foreign nationals aiming to work in the nurses and midwives wishing in the country, as per IE report.


Under the change, nurses and midwives wishing to work in the UK will still be required to achieve a minimum overall score of 7.0 in IELTS. However, a 6.5 score in the writing section of the test will be accepted alongside a 7.0 score in each of the reading, listening and speaking sections of the test. The British Council, which administers IELTS across 45 locations in India, considered this as an ‘opportunity’ for Indians wanting to work in the nursing profession in the UK, said the report.

Standard Examination for Migration

The IELTS is the most widely used test of English for migration to Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the UK. It is recognised by more than 10,000 universities, schools, employers and immigration bodies, including all universities in Australia and the UK and many of the leading institutions in the USA.

Language Skills

The IELTS measures four key languages skills – listening, speaking, reading and writing. It is backed by research teams in the UK and Australia and administered by centres in more than 140 countries around the world. It measures the language proficiency of people who want to study or work where English is used as a language of communication. It uses a nine-band scale to clearly identify levels of proficiency, from non-user (band score 1) through to expert (band score 9).

Academic or General Training

IELTS is available in two test versions: Academic – for people applying for higher education or professional registration, and General Training for those migrating to Australia, Canada and the UK, or applying for secondary education, training programmes and work experience in an English-speaking environment. Both versions provide a valid and accurate assessment of the four language skills: listening, reading, writing and speaking.

Fair to All

IELTS treats all test takers with the utmost fairness and respect by actively avoiding cultural bias and accepting all standard varieties of native-speaker English, including North American, British, Australian and New Zealand English.

The IELTS Academic test is for people applying for higher education or professional registration in an English speaking environment. It reflects some of the features of the academic language and assesses whether you are ready to begin studying or training. This approach is widely supported by the institutions that recognize IELTS. The IELTS General Training test is for those who are going to English speaking countries for secondary education, work experience or training programs. It is also a requirement for migration to Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the UK. The test focuses on basic survival skills in broad social and workplace contexts.

Image source: IELTS website

Leave a Comment