UVCE to establish Water Institute in Bangalore

The University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering (UVCE), Bangalore University, Bangalore and the UVCE Foundation, India and US have entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between UVCE, Bangalore and UVCE Foundation for establishing a Water Institute on the occasion of Celebration of the centenary year of UVCE, TOI reported. Prof. Venugopal, K R, Vice Chancellor and B K Ravi, Registrar, Bangalore University have signed on behalf of the Bangalore University and Rajiv Chamaraj has signed on behalf of UVCE Foundation, noted the report.


  • The main purpose of the Water Institute is to bring expertise from the different institutes like Indian Institute of Science.
  • Indian Institute of Technology and UVCE Water Resources Group into one platform to solve the water crisis and to reach to the end users with solutions to their problems
  • To create manpower on the usage of water efficiently and effectively for better management of water resources
  • With these, there is an intention to train the students of Bangalore University with the state of laboratory funded from the Government of Karnataka and UVCE foundation in the Bangalore University

After signing of the MOU, the brainstorm discussion was held to frame the vision and mission of the Water Institute. Water resources experts such as Nagesh Kumar, from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, CSP Ojha and Rahul Garg from Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee, Venkataraman Lakshmi, Emeritus Scientist, Canada Centre for Inland Water, Canada and Rajashekara Murthy, University of Mc Master University, Hamilton, K Ranga and R Jagadish, Former Professors of UVCE, H N Ramesh, Principal, UVCE, Usha N Murthy, Chairperson Department of Civil Engineering and Faculty members of the Dept. of Civil Engineering, UVCE, Bangalore were present during the brainstorm discussion.

Bangalore University, situated in the capital city of Karnataka was established in July 1964 as an offshoot of the University of Mysore, primarily to include institutions of higher learning located in the metropolitan city of Bangalore and the districts of Bangalore, Kolar and Tumkur, which eventually became a separate university. Initially, the two premier colleges of the city, the Central College (CC) and the University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering (UVCE) formed the nucleus of Bangalore University.

Academically, the University is structured into six faculties- Arts, Science, Commerce and Management, Education, Law and Engineering. The varsity has 48 PG departments, a postgraduate Centre at Kolar, (communed during 1994-95), four University colleges, 684 affiliated colleges and several other Centres and Directorates of higher learning and research under its purview. At present, the University offers 50 Post Graduate Courses and Employment Oriented Diploma and Certificate Courses. The University has launched the Five years Integrated Courses in Biological Sciences.

Leave a Comment