Anna University, Chennai

Anna University, Chennai was established in 1978 as a unitary type of University.  The Anna University, which is of the affiliated type, is a member of the Association of Indian Universities, the Association of Commonwealth Universities and Partner of UNESCO International Center for Engineering education (UICEE). UGC have accredited Anna University with Five Star status in 2002 which is the highest rating. With proven capabilities both in academic and research areas, Anna University was able to receive this honour for a period of five years for excellence in Technical Education.


It offers higher education in Engineering, Technology and allied Sciences relevant to the current and projected needs of the society. Besides promoting research and disseminating knowledge gained there from, it fosters cooperation between the academic and industrial communities. The University was formed by bringing together and integrating two well-known technical institutions in the city of Madras.


Since December 2001, it has become a large, highly renowned Affiliated University, having brought into its fold about 426 Self-financing Engineering Colleges six Government Colleges and three Government-aided Engineering colleges located in various parts of Tamilnadu State.


Campus of Anna University, Chennai 

The University campus is situated in the southern part of the city of Madras (Chennai), the University’s main campus extends over 100 hectares abutting the Adyar River on the north and Raj Bhavan on the south. The Madras Institute of Technology at Chrompet constitutes the second campus of the University which extends over 20 hectares. Both the campuses have a variety of buildings serving the various needs of the University community. A third campus extending over 80 hectares is located at Taramani near the Instronic campus, Adyar.


Facilities at Anna University, Chennai 

  • Classrooms
  • Computer Center
  • Laboratories
  • Library
  • Health Centre
  • Sports

 Regional Offices of Anna University, Chennai 

University Departments at Anna University, Chennai 

Constituent Colleges at Anna University, Chennai 

  • University College of Engineering Kanchipuram
  • University College of Engineering Arani
  • University College of Engineering Villupuram
  • University College of Engineering Tindivanam
  • University College of Engineering Pattukkottai
  • University College of Engineering Thirukkuvalai
  • University College of Engineering Ariyalur
  • University College of Engineering Panruti
  • University College of Engineering Ramanathapuram
  • University College of Engineering Dindigul
  • University College of Engineering Nagercoil
  • University College of Engineering (VOC College of Engg.), Thoothukudi
  • University College of Engineering, Bharathidasan Institute of Technology (BIT) Campus, Tiruchirappalli
Bachelor of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering
Bachelor of Engineering in Marine
Bachelor of Engineering in Civil Engineering 
Bachelor of Engineering in Electrical and Electronics Engineering
Bachelor of Engineering in Information and Commmunication Engineering 
Bachelor of Engineering in Electronics & Communication Engineering 
Master of Engineering in Electronics and Communication Engineering
Masters of Engineering in System Engineering
Master of Engineering in Software Engineering
Master of Engineering in Computer Science & Engineering
Bachelor of Engineering in Computer Science & Engineering
Master of Science (MS) by Research
Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Science & Engineering
Master of Computer Application (MCA)
Master of Engineering in Multimedia
Bachelor of Technology in Information Technology
Master of Technology in Information Technology
Bachelor of Engineering in Computer Science and Engineering
Short Term Course in Biomedical Instrumentation
Master of Engineering in Medical Electronics
Master of Engineering in Medical Electronics
Masters in Systems Engineering & Operations Research
Master of Business Administration (MBA)
Master of Science in Mathematics
Master of Science in Computer Science (Integrated)
Master of Science in Information Technology (Integrated)
Master of philosophy
Bachelor of Science in Chemistry
Master of Science in Applied Chemistry
Master of Technology in Polymer Science and Engineering


Name : Anna University, Chennai
Location : Sardar Patel Road
City : Chennai
State : Tamil Nadu
Country : India
Contact No : 044-22351723, 22351126
Contact Email :
Website :


Leave Your Review