HSSC Group D examination 2018 begins

The examination of the Haryana Staff Selection Commission (HSSC) commenced today. There are around 18,218 openings in various departments of Haryana Government. Besides today, the examination will continue tomorrow and November 17 and 18.

Admit Cards

The Admit Cards for today and tomorrow were released on November 2 on the official website, hsscc.gov.in. The Admit Card for the second phase was published on November 7. The official notification was issued on August 26.

Examination Pattern

  • Total marks 90
  • Part 1: General Awareness, reasoning, mathematics, science, English, Hindi or equivalent concerned subject as applicable – 75%
  • Part 2: History, current affairs, literature, geography, civics, environment and culture of Haryana – 25%

Public Service Commissions, both at the Union and at the State level, are amongst the most critical Public Institutions with long traditions which have served well. The establishment of this Institution had its origin in the history of Indian nationalism and the persistent demand of the leaders of freedom movement for progressive Indianisation of the Civil Service under British Raj. The Montagu-Chelmsford Report accepted in principle the request for Indianisation of the higher civil services and accordingly a provision for this was made in the Government of India Act, 1919.

The Royal Commission of the Superior Civil Service in India under the Chairmanship of Lord Lee, in its 1924 Report, recommended setting up of Public Service Commission of India. The Public Service Commission of India was set up on 1st October 1926 under the Chairmanship of Sir Ross Barker.

The first Commission at the provincial level was the Madras Service Commission established in 1930 under a 1929 Act of the Madras legislature. The Government of India Act, 1935 provided for the establishment of a Public Service Commission for each Province. Accordingly, under the 1935 Act seven Public Service Commissions were established in 1937 for the provinces of Assam (at Shillong), Bengal (at Calcutta), Bombay and Sindh (at Bombay), Central Provinces, Bihar and Orissa (at Ranchi), Madras (at Madras), Punjab and North-West (at Lahore) and the United Provinces (at Allahabad).

All the State Public Service Commission including the successors of the older Provincial Public Service Commission’s came to be established after the reorganisation of States after independence. The State of Haryana came into existence under the provisions of Punjab Re-Organisation Act, 1966 (No. 31 of 1966), with effect from November 1, 1966, when the Haryana Public Service Commission also came into existence.

Leave a Comment